What do you do if your apartment is too hot?
Turn the ceiling fan on, and make sure it’s running counterclockwise. Just like in the summer, a fan can help cool the room down. However, when a fan is moving counterclockwise, it pushes cool air down and hot air up. If you can, leave your windows open while you do this so the heat has a way to escape.
What are the landlord and tenant laws in Texas?
The laws protect property owners and managers as well as tenants. The laws explain the rights and responsibilities of both parties when a landlord-tenant relationship is established in the State of Texas and provides remedies for violations. Texas also extends and grants some authority under additional measures.
Are there restrictions on how many people can live in an apartment in Texas?
There are no statutory restrictions on the number of children living in the rental. Landlords can set their own occupancy standards, and these may be more restrictive than state law. For example, a landlord might set a two-person per bedroom limit, and refuse to rent a one-bedroom apartment to a couple and a roommate.
What do you need to rent an apartment in Texas?
Visit Texas Tenant Screening Background Checks to learn more. All states require a variety of forms to rent an apartment to a tenant and Texas is no exception. Check out American Apartment Owners Association’s Texas Landlord Forms now.
What are the laws on occupancy in Texas?
Apartment Occupancy Laws in Texas 1 Limits on the Number of Adult Occupants. By Texas law, the maximum number of adults permitted to occupy an apartment is three times the number of bedrooms. 2 Landlord’s Occupancy Standards. 3 Fair Housing Regulations. 4 Limits on Visitors. 5 Occupancy Rate Applies to Bedrooms. …
What are the Texas rental laws?
Texas Lease and Rental Agreements. In Texas, leases and rental agreement laws place no limits on security deposits but require landlords to return deposits (minus the amount used for cleaning and repairs) within 30 days of lease termination.
What are landlord tenant laws in Texas?
Required Landlord Disclosures in Texas. Under Texas law, landlords must disclose specific information to tenants (usually in the lease or rental agreement), such as the identity of anyone authorized to act on the landlord’s behalf and the tenant’s rights when the landlord fails to make necessary repairs.
What are Texas rental rights?
Texas renters have rights that are afforded to them by state law. Texas renters can exercise these rights when facing discrimination, unsafe and unsanitary living conditions, disputes over security deposits and evictions.
How do you break lease in Texas?
Texas rental agreements dictate what is required of you when you break a lease. Provide written notice of 30 to 60 days to your landlord. Pack your belongings and remove them from the premises. Walk through the rental with the landlord. Pay your reletting fee and any additional fines or fees the landlord has lawfully included in your lease.