What are the Texas Statutes called?
Introduction. The Texas Statutes is the official name for the laws of the state of Texas. These laws are passed by the Texas Legislature in its biennial sessions, then split up by topic and placed into official published code books.
Where can I find Texas Statutes?
The current Texas statutes are available online. In print, Vernon’s Texas Statutes and Codes Annotated is considered the official version of the statutes. Vernon’s includes helpful annotations to case law, prior versions of the law, and other secondary sources.
How much is a name change in Texas?
You will need to pay a filing fee of between $250 and $350, depending on the county in which you live. If you can’t afford the fee, you can apply to either pay the fee in installments or have the fee waived. You will also need to schedule a date and time for the court hearing.
How do you legally add a middle name in Texas?
For minor changes to your first or middle name, get an application to amend your birth certificate from the Texas Bureau of Vital Statistics (www.dshs.state.tx.us). To change your last name, you will need a court order. To file a petition for name change, you must be at least 18 years of age.
What is the assumed name act in Texas?
Texas Business & Commerce Code, Title 5, Chapter 71—the “Assumed Business and Professional Name Act”—contains the legal requirements for filing a notarized assumed name certificate for individuals, companies, and others: Section 71.002. Definitions.
What does Texas Penal Code say about tampering with identification numbers?
Texas Penal Code – PENAL § 31.11. Tampering with Identification Numbers (1) knowingly or intentionally removes, alters, or obliterates the serial number or other permanent identification marking on tangible personal property; or (2) possesses, sells, or offers for sale tangible personal property and:
When to give the name of a statute?
You should give the statute’s name and original section number only if it is commonly cited that way, or if it would aid the identification of the statue. If you are citing to a statute that is no longer in force, you should cite to the current code if the statute still appears in it.
What is a misdemeanor under the Texas Penal Code?
(d) An offense under this section is a Class A misdemeanor. (e) In this section, “vehicle” has the meaning given by Section 541
How are name changes governed by the Texas Family Code?
Name changes in Texas are governed by Texas Family Code chapter 45. Within this chapter, subchapter A governs name changes for children. Subchapter B of Chapter 45 governs name changes for adults. It outlines the requirements and procedure that must be followed.
Where can I find the Texas state statutes?
The LRL maintains an online Legislative Archive system that allows you to search for and find legislation by bill number or session law chapter number. Session laws from 1883 to the present are included. The advanced search option allows you to search by other options such as subject matter, author, or caption.
How do you change your name in Texas?
If you find these statutes difficult to understand, you may want to look at the “plain English” resources on this page or speak to an attorney. Name changes in Texas are governed by Texas Family Code chapter 45. Within this chapter, subchapter A governs name changes for children. Subchapter B of Chapter 45 governs name changes for adults.
What are the laws of the state of Texas?
The Texas statutes are the laws enacted by the state legislature. These laws are later arranged by subject area into codes like the Family Code or the Penal Code.