What happens when you sell your car in Washington State?

What happens when you sell your car in Washington State?

Once you’ve sold your car in Washington, license plates stay with you, not the car. You can transfer your license plates to a new car as long as your name is on the registration and title. Find out more at the Washington DOL website.

How long does it take to transfer ownership of a car in WA?

After you buy or get a vehicle as a gift, you have 15 days to transfer the ownership into your name. If you don’t transfer within 15 days you’ll have to pay penalties: $50 on the 16th day, $2 per day after the 16th day, up to $125. If you buy from a WA state dealer, they will take care of the transfer.

Which is the best selling car in Washington State?

According to Kelley Blue Book’s list of the best-selling cars of 2019, neither baby boomers nor millenials in Wash. follow the car trends of the rest of the country. None of the top five best-selling cars from KBB showed up in our data.

Where can I sell my wa license plate?

Sell, Privately, On consignment, or. Out of state (Must have a WA license plate), Trade to a private party or dealer, Gift, Donate, Give to a wrecking yard, Turn over to an insurance company, or. Dispose of your vehicle.

Where do I report a car sold in Washington State?

If you neglect to report, you could be liable for towing bills or other liabilities even though you no longer own the vehicle. You can report the sale online, either through your Washington DOL License eXpress account or using the online form, or in person at any vehicle licensing office.

Is it easy to sell a car in Washington?

Buying or selling a vehicle can be made easier and less risky if you follow the guidelines and tips of the Washington Department of Licensing (DOL).

How to transfer ownership of a car in WA?

If you buy from an out-of-state dealer, you may need to take care of the transfer. Find out more about buying from a WA dealer . If you sold, gifted, or donated your vehicle to someone else, you’ll need to file a report of sale. 2. Gather the information you’ll need Find out how much it will cost by contacting a vehicle licensing office.

Can a curbstoner sell a car in Washington State?

First off, the Washington DOL warns the state’s motorists that some unlicensed dealers known as “curbstoners” advertise and sell cars from the street curb by posing as private sellers. Transactions with these unlicensed car sellers are not protected the way sales with licensed dealers are.