How do I respond to a divorce summons in NC?

How do I respond to a divorce summons in NC?

You must answer the complaint and file it at the office of the Clerk of Court within 30 days from the date you personally received the complaint or if received by registered mail, the date when you signed for the complaint. If you cannot respond within that time you must request additional time to answer.

What to do after being served divorce papers in NC?

If you’ve been served with divorce papers, the summons should tell you how many days you have to respond by filing your own papers with the court. In North Carolina, you will have 30 days to respond, and you can also petition for an extension that will grant you an additional 30 days.

How to prepare a divorce complaint?

  • Your complete name and the complete name of your spouse
  • Your current address
  • The last known whereabouts of where your spouse was present
  • The date the marriage took place
  • The location where the marriage took place
  • The grounds of the divorce

    What are the grounds for immediate divorce in NC?

    • (1) Abandonment.
    • (2) Maliciously turns the other out of doors.
    • (3) By cruel or barbarous treatment.
    • (4) Offers such indignities to the person of the other as to render his or her condition intolerable and life burdensome.
    • (5) Becomes an excessive user of alcohol or drugs.
    • (6) Adultery.

      How do you file for divorce in NC?

      In order to file for divorce in North Carolina, either you or your spouse must be a resident of North Carolina for at least 6 months. You may file in the Superior Division or the District Division of the General Court of Justice in the county where either party resides.

      Can you handle your own North Carolina divorce?

      I frequently get asked by clients, potential clients, and people just looking for North Carolina divorce information, whether they can handle their own divorce. The legal answer is always yes you can… any person can represent their own interest in court without a lawyer. All the way from small claims cases to death penalty defense, you can be your own lawyer. Everyone has the right to stand up in their own case and be his or her own lawyer.