What happens when you get a second DUI in Massachusetts?
A second offense is a misdemeanor. If you are arrested a second time for drunk driving in the State of Massachusetts, you will be fined from $600-$10,000. You will also face from 30 days to 2 1/2 years in prison and have your drivers license suspended for a period of 2 years.
What is the penalty for first offense DUI in Massachusetts?
The potential penalties for a First Offense DUI in Massachusetts are: A fine ranging from $500 to $5,000 and/or a period of incarceration up to 2 ½ years in the House of Correction. Upon a conviction for a First Offense DUI, the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles will suspend your license up to one-year.
How long do you lose your license for first DUI in MA?
First-Offense Probation The driver’s license will be suspended for 45 to 90 days.
What is worse DUI or OUI?
While OUI is a general term, DUI refers to a felony offense. In Massachusetts, driving when drunk or under influence of alcohol is defined as an OUI. The first and second OUI offenses are misdemeanors, while the third and subsequent offenses are defined as Felony DUI.
How do you get a DUI expunged in Massachusetts?
In Massachusetts, courts only grant a DUI expungement for two reasons. The first reason is if someone else uses your identity and receives a DUI conviction but you are innocent. In this case, the court may just decide to change the name on the documents to Jane or John Doe, removing the case from your record.
How long does a DUI affect your insurance in Massachusetts?
In most states, your DUI will remain visible to your insurance company for five years. Unfortunately, this is not the case everywhere. In Massachusetts, your DUI conviction will remain active on your driving record for an entire decade.
When does a second DUI count as a second offense?
In some states, a second DUI counts as a second offense only if it occurred within a certain period of time of the first offense. This period of time is sometimes called the DUI “look-back” period.
When does Someone get arrested for their first DUI in Massachusetts?
When someone gets arrested for their first DUI in Massachusetts, their first concerns are usually staying out of jail and minimizing the impact on their life. But many people are also concerned about the costs. Getting a DUI can get expensive. You may have to pay bail depending on the circumstances of your case.
Is it expensive to get a DUI in Massachusetts?
Getting a DUI can get expensive. There are court fees and fines. There may also be costs associated with carrying out your sentence or enrollment in an alcohol program. When someone gets arrested for their first DUI in Massachusetts, their first concerns are usually staying out of jail and minimizing the impact on their life.
What happens if you get a DUI for the first time?
The maximum possible penalties for a first offense OUI/DUI are: However, first time DUI offenders usually do not serve jail time unless their DUI resulted in death or serious injury.
What happens to a second offense DUI in Massachusetts?
However, depending on the circumstances, the offender may be eligible for early release (typically, on probation) after completing at least 30 days of the jail sentence. Second offenders also must pay $600 to $10,000 in fines and $300 in fees.
What happens to a second offense Oui in Massachusetts?
For a second-offense OUI, the judge will order 60 days to two and a half years in jail. However, depending on the circumstances, the offender may be eligible for early release (typically, on probation) after completing at least 30 days of the jail sentence. Second offenders also must pay $600 to $10,000 in fines and $300 in fees.
What are the penalties for a second DUI?
The penalties for a second offense DUI charge if convicted are as follows: Jail time: The jail sentence for a second offense will be between 30 days and 30 months. Fine: The fine amount for a second offense will be between $600 and $10,000. Alcohol treatment: You will also be required to attend a state approved alcohol education program.
Is there a look back period for a DUI in Massachusetts?
Note: Per Melanie’s Law there is a lifetime look back period for DUI/OUI convictions, meaning that once you get a DUI or OUI in Massachusetts you will always have a DUI record.