What does conditional discharge mean in Georgia law?
Conditional Discharge: Generally reserved for Marijuana Possession of less than one ounce (O.C.G.A. §16-3-2) and Possession of Alcohol by a Minor/ Under Age Possession or Consumption (O.C.G.A. §3-3-23.1), a Conditional Discharge is where a defendant enters a guilty plea, but the judge withholds disposition until a period of probation is completed.
When to file a petition for conditional residence?
If you are filing for the petition jointly with your spouse, you must file it during the 90 day period immediately before the second anniversary of the date you were granted conditional resident status. After those 90 days, your conditional residence expires.
When to file for paternity and legitimation in Georgia?
Issues of name changes, visitation and custody will not be addressed by the court in a paternity action filed by Georgia Child Support Services. A separate petition for legitimation must be filed before the court will address any issues such as custody or visitation. Who can file for legitimation in Georgia?
What are the alternative sentencing options in Georgia?
Alternative Sentencing in Georgia: First Offender, Conditional Discharge, Drug Court, Nolo and Expungement Law. After being charged with a crime, a defendant usually has three main options: fight the charge via motions and a trial, enter a standard guilty plea or enter a special or non-standard guilty plea.
Can a felony conviction be sealed in Georgia?
Source: Georgia Board of Pardons and Paroles. Effective in 2020, record restriction and sealing are now available for felony convictions that have been pardoned, except for violent or sexual offenses, as long as there are no intervening convictions.
How to request reinstatement of drivers license in Georgia?
You can submit a letter requesting reinstatement requirements to: the Georgia Department of Driver Services, Post Office Box 80447, Conyers, Ga. 30013. This request must contain your name as it appears on your driver’s license, license number, date of birth, correct mailing address, and your signature.
When does a juvenile file need to be sealed in Ga?
Sealing of juvenile records is governed by Ga. Code Ann. § 15-11-701. Juveniles have the right to seal their records, and the court must order automatic sealing of a file after a case is dismissed or handled through informal adjudication. § 15-11-701(a).
Can a driver’s license be revoked in Georgia?
Your driver’s license will be revoked in Georgia, if you are convicted of one of the following: A driver is declared a habitual violator for any third conviction of a mandatory suspended offense within 5 years. Revocation is for 5 years.