What happens when you get an MIP in Kansas?
In Kansas, if you are under age 21, you may not consume, possess, purchase, or attempt to purchase alcohol. Penalties for violating this law include: Minors 18 to 21—a Class C misdemeanor offense with a minimum fine of $200. Minors Under 18—classification as a juvenile offender and a fine of $200-$500.
How do I get MIP charges dropped?
Your attorney must file a petition to expunge your MIP conviction in the court where you were sentenced. There will be a hearing in front of a judge. If the judge agrees to the expungement, the records of your MIP arrest, plea, trial, and conviction will all be expunged.
What happens to a minor convicted of MIP?
A minor convicted of MIP who is thirteen years of age or older, and under the age of eighteen, the court shall notify the DoL within 24 hours after entry of the judgment. The length of time for the revocation is harsh. 1 year or until your 17th birthday, whichever is longer.
What are the defenses to the MIP charge?
Some MIP defenses include the following: There Was No Alcohol in the Container Held by the Minor: The burden is on the defendant to show that the container they were holding lacked alcohol. The Minor Legally Consumed Alcohol: Some states allow 19 and 20 year olds legally consume alcohol.
How old do you have to be to notify the DOL of a MIP?
While the DoL is required to give notice, that is the only formality required. A minor convicted of MIP who is thirteen years of age or older, and under the age of eighteen, the court shall notify the DoL within 24 hours after entry of the judgment.
What happens if you get a diversion for a MIP?
Consequently, conviction of MIP or diversion for the MIP arrest, equates to an automatic revocation after the DoL learns of the conviction from the court. While the DoL is required to give notice, that is the only formality required.