What is an exempt employee in Nevada?

What is an exempt employee in Nevada?

1.2. Nevada categorizes some types of workers as exempt even if they do not earn more than $913 a week. Unlike federal law, Nevada specifies that employees may also be exempt if they are licensed or certified as certain professions even if their salary is less than $913 a week.

How do I know if Im an exempt salaried employee?

Under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), you are considered an exempt executive if: Your salary is at least $455 per week or $23,660 per year. (In California, the minimum annual salary to be considered exempt is $33,280.) Your primary duty is managing the enterprise.

What is the minimum salary in Nevada?

$8.75 per hour
Nevada has a two-tier minimum wage system based on whether qualifying health benefits are offered to employees. For the period covering July 1, 2021, through June 30, 2022, the minimum wage rate is $8.75 per hour if the employee is offered qualifying health benefits, and $9.75 per hour if the employee is not.

What are the work rules for an exempt employee in Nevada?

The FLSA requires overtime pay only for work hours that exceed 40 for the week. A salaried nonexempt employee is therefore entitled to overtime pay according to Nevada’s overtime policies, since you’re supposed to use the law that benefits the employee the most.

How much does the state of Nevada pay?

The federal and local government shares of the workforce in Nevada are also smaller than average. State employees in Nevada are paid about the same as the national average for state government employees ($57,818 in Nevada vs. $58,365 for the United States).

What does exempt mean in the Fair Labor Standards Act?

The Fair Labor Standards Act (FSLA) requires that any business that currently has employees categorize those employees as either exempt or non-exempt. Employees that are classified as exempt are automatically excluded from minimum wage and overtime requirements that the FSLA provides, as well as any state overtime regulations.

What are the requirements to be exempt from NAE?

To qualify for this exemption, an employee must meet all of the following requirements: The employee must earn $100,000 or more annually. The employee primarily performs office or non-manual work. The employee customarily and regularly performs at least one of the exempt duties of an exempt executive, administrative, or professional employee.

What is the minimum wage in Nevada?

Nevada Minimum Wage for 2018, 2019. Nevada’s state minimum wage rate is $8.25 per hour. This is greater than the Federal Minimum Wage of $7.25. You are entitled to be paid the higher state minimum wage.

What are the labor laws in Nevada?

Nevada Labor Laws: Everything You Need to Know. What Are Nevada Labor Laws? Nevada labor laws state that the minimum wage in Nevada for employers who compensate employees with a qualifying health benefit is $7.25. For employers who do not provide a qualifying health benefit, the minimum wage is $8.25.

What are exempt and non exempt employees?

In the United States, under the Fair Labor Standards Act, employees are categorized as exempt and non-exempt employees. Typically, exempt employees work as executives or managers. Non-exempt employees are typically laborers, and considered to be blue-collar workers.

What are the overtime laws in Nevada?

Nevada Overtime Pay Laws. The Nevada Overtime Law generally requires payment of overtime at one and one-half times the regular rate of pay for all hours worked in excess of 8 in a day and 40 in a week.