How do I file for divorce in Douglas County GA?

How do I file for divorce in Douglas County GA?

Divorces in Douglas County must be filed in the Superior Court….The forms you will need to start the divorce include:

  1. Petition for Divorce.
  2. Verification.
  3. Summons.
  4. Domestic Relations Financial Affidavit.
  5. Domestic Relations Case Filing Information Form.
  6. Sheriff’s Entry of Service or acknowledgement of service.
  7. Standing Order.

Who is the Douglas County Clerk?

Merlin Klotz
The Douglas County Clerk & Recorder, Merlin Klotz, serves in the following roles: Chief Election Official of Douglas County.

What time does the Douglas County Courthouse open?

District Court Office Hours
Department Office Hours
Clerk of the District Court Monday – Friday, 8:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. & 1:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Community Corrections Monday – Friday, 8:00 a.m. – 5:30 p.m. (M-Th) & 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. (F)
Court Records Monday – Friday, 8:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. & 1:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.

How to file a domestic violence case in Douglas County?

If the perpetrator lives out of state and you are a resident of Douglas or the crime occurred in Douglas County, it is possible you may be able to file your order in Douglas County. You may call the Domestic Violence Task Force at 678-715-1196 or SHARE House at 678-949-0626 for assistance in determining the correct jurisdiction for your case.

Where do I go to file a divorce?

Identify where to file your divorce case. You should file your divorce case with the district court in the county where you live or where your spouse lives. To find your district court, click on Courts by County. 3. Decide whether you and your spouse will file the divorce case together.

How to file a motion with Douglas County Sheriff?

The Magistrate Court of Douglas County requires that service must first be attempted by the Douglas County Sheriff’s Office, unless otherwise ordered. If the Sheriff’s Office is unsuccessful you may file a motion in the Magistrate Court seeking to use a private process server.

What does civil division of Douglas County do?

The Civil Division is tasked with the responsibility of serving civil processes received from the Courts of Douglas County, as well as other jurisdictions. In addition to process service, this division executes court orders that include the completion of Evictions, Writs of Possession and the collection of other judgments issued by the courts.