What do the 3 colors of the French flag mean?

What do the 3 colors of the French flag mean?

The colors symbolize nobility (blue), clergy (white), and bourgeois (red), which were the estates of the old regime in France. When the Tricolour was formally adopted in 1794, its colors symbolized the values of the French Revolution: liberty, equality, brotherhood, democracy, secularism, and modernization.

What color blue is in the French flag?

The colours of the French flag may also represent the three main estates of the Ancien Régime (the clergy: white, the nobility: red and the bourgeoisie: blue). Blue, as the symbol of class, comes first and red, representing the nobility, comes last.

What do the 3 colors of the French flag represent for kids?

Known as the “Le drapeau tricolore” (French Tricolor), the present flag of France has three equal vertical bands of blue, white, and red. These three colors are intricately linked to the history of France. While the color white represents the Bourbon monarchy, and the red and blue are the colors of the city of Paris.

Why is the French flag red white and blue kids?

White – this is the traditional color of the Bourbon family. They ruled France from the late 16th century until the time of the French Revolution which lasted from 1789 until 1799. Red and blue – the red and blue in the flag represent the colors of the city of Paris, which is of course the capital of France.

What are England’s colors?

The colours of the flag are in turn taken from the flags of England (white and red) and of Scotland (blue and white), which have been combined to form the union flag; to this was later added a red saltire for Ireland.

What is the French flag called?

The “tricolore” (three-colour) flag is an emblem of the Fifth Republic. It had its origins in the union, at the time of the French Revolution, of the colours of the King (white) and the City of Paris (blue and red). Today, the “tricolour” flies over all public buildings.

Which country is the closest to France?

France borders Belgium and Luxembourg in the northeast, Germany, Switzerland, and Italy in the east, the Mediterranean Sea, Monaco, Spain, and Andorra in the south. France also shares maritime borders with the United Kingdom.

What do the three colors on the French flag stand for?

The French flag has three vertical bands starting with blue on the hoist side followed by white and red. The blue color represents duty and care for the poor, white stands for peace , while the red symbolizes bravery and strength. Historyplex Staff.

What colors are found in the French flag?

– The blue color: The blue color is associated with caring for the destitute by the affluent. – The white color: The white color stands for peace and honesty and for royalty and nobility. – The red color: The red color is associated with Saint Denis, the patron saint of France, who was beheaded by the pagan priests for his preachings.

How many colors are in the flag of France?

The French Flag comprises of three colors – blue, white and red. The national flag of France features vertical bands of the tricolor combination.

Where did the colors of the French flag come from?

The French Flag has its origin in the rosette, created during the French Revolution . The red and blue color have traditionally been the colors of Paris, since the mid-14th century when it was used by Etienne Marcel who revolted against the King of France and Dauphin. These colors were used by French revolutionaries as a symbol of their revolt to overthrow the Bourbon Dynasty who ruled France at that time.